This is normal, when you edit a file the original is left in the gallery temporarily and the new one is also accessible.

When a gallery mod approves the update they are merged, if rejected the new file is removed from the gallery.

This is to allow people not having to wait a long time for the file to be re-approved.

So if this happens, you do not need to do anything, when the edit is approved they will be merged.