IPB
4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Transparent Bars And Buttons Tutorial, Give your themes that professional look
Cassie159
post Sep 6 2006, 03:29 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 13-May 06
From: In the fires of hell
Member No.: 384049



How do I make transparent bars and buttons for my themes????

This is a question asked by alot of new themers.... so I hope this will be some help to you as this will show you how to make basic bars/buttons to help you on your way

I use Paintshop Pro X, but I`m sure you will get the idea and be able to figure out any software you use



First thing is to open a new image for your bar/button.... 176x26 (stardard softkey bar for SE W800) and leave the background as white
(IMG:http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/5165/1openimageqv6.th.png)

Next select a gradient colour and use the `fill` tool to colour the image
(IMG:http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/4378/2colourma7.th.png)

to make to bar slightly transparent move the tranpancey slider to want ever you want...but for this I`m going to put it to 55
(IMG:http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/7972/3barot9.th.png)

You will see your bar has gone slightly transparent but the most important thing is when you save the image....The image MUST be saved as a .png file.so save using the Save As button
(IMG:http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/7207/4pngta7.th.png)

And thats it your first but very simple transparent bar...And the same princapals goes for buttons too :)

You could also try multi-layer Transparent bars when you get the hang of things!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnnygoodbeer
post Sep 6 2006, 04:34 AM
Post #2





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 27-August 06
From: Between Spiritual Contamination and Spam.
Member No.: 573314



I Thankyou BIG TIME for this Information dude..
it will help me out in a VERY BIG WAY.. :pray: :pray:
As i am new to this theme making, and did try it out, but nearly gave up because i couldnt do Transparent Bars And Buttons.. or i was going to make a few request for people to do me a couple of themes..
So i thankyou again.!!

So i will be trying it out as soon as i get the time,
now maybe i can get as good as some of the themers on here.(wishful thinking)
but dude, you have helped me out no-end and i nearly gave up on the whole idea..
I THANKYOU..
:10: :10: :10: :10: :10: :10:

:pray: :pray: :pray: :pray: :pray: :pray:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dr_megabyte
post Sep 6 2006, 03:47 PM
Post #3



Group Icon

Group: TMC Manager
Posts: 3576
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Sweden
Member No.: 102261



@Cassie159
:good:

To continue with multi-layers: http://www.skorpan.dk/tut/softbar.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shoutout
post Sep 6 2006, 03:55 PM
Post #4





Group: Super Members
Posts: 5630
Joined: 19-August 06
Member No.: 555820



very helpful Tutorial thanx alot
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
solidsnake204
post Dec 11 2006, 01:11 PM
Post #5





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 23-August 06
Member No.: 563940



I use Paint.NET to do transparent pictures (Paint.NET is the name of the program, not a website).

It is completely free, no trials, no adware, no spyware

:10: Paint.NET Website :10:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Simon_Ash
post Jan 1 2007, 11:26 AM
Post #6





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 27-December 06
Member No.: 873941



Sounds easy when you say it...But is their anyway of doing it with ms paint? Or any other free software i can download to do this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adonisdemon
post Jan 1 2007, 12:22 PM
Post #7



Group Icon

Group: Admin Team
Posts: 23870
Joined: 4-February 04
From: LDN
Member No.: 6549



best bet is GIMP, it's free. google for it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
keith_rcm
post Jan 17 2007, 01:27 AM
Post #8





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-December 06
Member No.: 865282



hello im new.
Im not gonna be sued by the owners of the themes I make right?
for example I made a theme for Fantastic 4 and it is due for release this year (the sequel)
Marvel isnt gonna hound me right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dr_megabyte
post Jan 17 2007, 02:29 AM
Post #9



Group Icon

Group: TMC Manager
Posts: 3576
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Sweden
Member No.: 102261



@keith_rcm
Technically, they could, but I don't think you have to worry about it. It's not in their interest to rid mobiles from Marvel content. It's free advertising for them and if I had a company I would welcome it but you can never be 100% safe when dealing with any company and the pictures we "borrow"..

IF it were to happen, I'm sure they would contact you and ask you to remove them before they drag you to court..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
.Gemini
post Jan 23 2007, 10:22 PM
Post #10





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 28-December 06
Member No.: 877632



QUOTE
i use Paint.NET to do transparent pictures (Paint.NET is the name of the program, not a website).



How can u do transparent images on paint?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adonisdemon
post Jan 24 2007, 02:40 AM
Post #11



Group Icon

Group: Admin Team
Posts: 23870
Joined: 4-February 04
From: LDN
Member No.: 6549



you can't.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
.Gemini
post Jan 24 2007, 12:38 PM
Post #12





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 28-December 06
Member No.: 877632



I was trying diferent tools and stuff, and i got a opaccity tool, i can with it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jacoke
post Jan 29 2007, 01:57 AM
Post #13





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 28-January 07
Member No.: 990216



Thank you so MUCH.

I finally can get started on my buttons for my SE K800i theme.

:10: :clap2: :pray:

Hail to ya.

If you have any more tricks????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
janzokris
post Feb 7 2007, 05:29 AM
Post #14





Group: Partial Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-January 07
Member No.: 976130



Im using psp9, want to make my "desktop highlight" button tansparent to around 35% so you can just make it out, have followed what you have said to do here but Im still not getting it right., Any other helpful hints??

Janet
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rikard_sweden
post Feb 7 2007, 12:24 PM
Post #15



Group Icon

Group: Junior Admin Team
Posts: 4336
Joined: 20-January 05
From: Sweden
Member No.: 79250



Save the file as .png and you shouldn't have any problems :good:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 11:26 PM